Cassette / Download

Released 2016


01.  Everything But Answers

02.  Salvation Road

03.  Another Bad Deal (Live)

04.  Chicken Shit Blues

05.  Less Than I Expected

06.  Learning To Die (Unreleased-Demo)

07.  A Million Miles From Home

08.  Before The Night

09.  God Only Knows

10.  I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday*

11.  Angel In Chains (Live)

12.  The Tears Of Judas (Vers. 2) (Unreleased)

13.  Oklahoma (Unreleased)

14.  When The Sky Comes Falling Down

15.  That's The Way Love Is (Unreleased-Demo)

16.  Fortune Teller

17.  The Last Song

All songs written by Robert Richmond Two Good Reasons Music-BMI. c 2003, 2004, 2008, 2013 except * written by Roy Wood, Jet
Music. BMI

All tracks produced by Robert Richmond except #8,12,14 produced by Jim Boyd.

Track #10 originally appears on "The Christmas Wish" (TGR-77003), 2003

Tracks #9 originally appears on "Fortune Teller" (TGR-77002), 2003

Tracks #1, 4, 5, 7, 17 &18 originally appear on "Sour Milk Moon" (TGR-77004), 2004

Tracks #8 & 14 originally appear on "Before The Night" (TGR-77006), 2013

Track #13 originally scheduled for release (TGR-77009) in 2014. Never issued

Thanks to: Pat Feeney, Dennis Bellinger, Jory Patiprin, Jim Boyd, Alphonso Kolb, Marty Meisner, Dan Hall, Marianne Murphy, Al Hurshman, Mike Diehl, Jamie Becker, Ron Zilli, Howard Hertz (Legal), everybody at Sony/ATV Music, Inc, Martin Guitars, NPR Radio and all the people at Native and First Nations radio.

In The Wind: Russell Means, John Stewart, Paul Thomas, Johnny Trudell, Jesse Winchester, Mom

Dedicated to Michael and Rosie


Seemingly overnight, Robert Richmond's "Fortune Teller" jettisoned to Native American radio airwaves in the early summer of 2004. The song, and the album from which it was pulled, enjoyed heavy airplay crossing over to Americana and college radio for the remainder of that summer and into fall. A second single, "Everything But Answers", propelled the album to linger for the remainder of that year. By January 2005, Richmond found he had the best selling album of the year in that genre and was nominated for three Native American Music awards.

Hardly an overnight sensation, Richmond had been writing for decades and first appears on a charity CD released in 2003 titled "The Christmas Wish" (he also co-wrote the title track). Performing what would ultimately be his only released cover version, "I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday" (written by Roy Wood), the song enjoyed annual holiday airplay on college radio in the U.S. and the British Isles. Following on the heels of that release, the four-track "Fortune Teller" e.p. featured live-in-the-studio stripped down
version of both the title track and "Angel In Chains", which would reappear on 2004's "Sour Milk Moon"

In autumn of 2004, after extensive touring and several radio live showcases, Richmond holed up with native legend Jim Boyd in Spokane and began recording what was to be the follow-up album. After which, he returned to Detroit and continued to write and record with 15 songs either demoed or completed before he seemingly vanished from the landscape.

Meanwhile, "Sour Milk Moon" was remixed and released in the EU in early 2005 where it became a cult favorite. Nothing more was heard until 2013 when a three song digital release appeared on i-Tunes including two titles from the Jim Boyd sessions and a demo ("Ever Since The Rain Came") that was originally intended for the proposed "Learning To Die" follow-up. That album never appeared, though included here are several demos from the project. In 2014, a single was announced ("Oklahoma"/"Revival Tent") and even
bequeathed a catalogue number (TGR-77009) but once again nothing materialized.

Richmond returned to writing in early 2014, completing some thirty new songs and plans to release a new collection in 2017. Now in his sixth decade, he is extremely private and nearly reclusive; but nonetheless compiled this collection from hundreds of hours of released, unreleased, live, demo and alternate versions. Many tracks have been remixed, all of them remastered.

For a brief moment, Robert Richmond lit up the Native American music scene with his explosively political and alternately deeply personal compositions. Just as quickly he was gone. In your hands is the only comprehensive collection of his music, featuring not only highlights from his five releases but demos, live performances and the long out of print holiday offering.

-Billy Sullivan, February 2016